Cannabis License Info
Information will be updated here as it becomes available. Check back for updates! Please note; while we aim to keep this pages fully up to date with the latest information, cannabis laws are always changing. We encourage you to verify these rules and regulations in the official legal text, which we’ve linked throughout the page for your convenience.
A patient may designate one caregiver to assist the qualifying patient with the patient’s therapeutic use of marijuana. A registered caregiver may serve only one registered patient at a time and a registered patient may only have one registered caregiver at a time.
How many plants can a Caregiver have?
A registered caregiver can have up to 2 mature and 7 immature plants
What are the costs associated with a becoming a registered caregiver?
- Application Fee: $50
- Renewal Fee: $50
A registered dispensary may acquire, possess, cultivate, manufacture, transfer, or dispense marijuana only for the purpose of assisting a registered patient with the use of marijuana for symptom relief directly or through the qualifying patient’s designated registered caregiver.
There are 4 dispensaries operating in Vermont. The state has not indicated if or when they will expand the program.
How many plants can a dispensary have?
A dispensary can cultivate and possess up to 28 mature marijuana plants, 98 immature marijuana plants, and 28 ounces of usable marijuana. If a dispensary is designated by more than 14 registered patients, the dispensary may cultivate and possess two mature marijuana plants, seven immature plants and two ounces of usable marijuana for every registered patient for which the dispensary serves as the designated dispensary.
What kind of Inventory tracking system do I need to operate a Dispensary?
Most states require dispensaries to track and trace all of their cannabis-related products for regulatory and compliance reporting requirements. Our dispensary POS system and inventory management system provides comprehensive seed-to-sale cannabis tracking with a focus on compliant data points. If your state requires seed-to-sale systems to stay compliant, BioTrack has you covered. Our system is customized to meet the unique regulatory frameworks in each and every state.
How much does it cost to open a marijuana dispensary in Vermont?
- Application Fee: $2,500
- First Year License Fee: $20,000
- Annual License Fee: $30,000
For a patient to receive medical marijuana, the law requires that a licensed health care practitioner certify that the patient has one or more of the qualifying conditions.
Estimated Patient Count: 2.542 according to the Vermont Marijuana Registry
What are the conditions that qualify for a medical marijuana recommendation?
- Any patient receiving hospice care
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- HIV or AIDS
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Severe or chronic pain
- Severe nausea
How much marijuana can a patient possess?
- 2 ounces of useable marijuana
Can patients cultivate their own marijuana?
- Yes, patients can have up to 2 mature and 7 immature plants
What are the fees associated with a medical recommendation in Vermont?
- Annual Registration Fee: $50
- Renewal Fee: $50.00
Vermont Seed-to-Sale Traceability Info
Vermont’s Medical Marijuana Program is operated by the Crime Information Center under the direction of the Department of Public Safety