Cannabis License Info
Information will be updated here as it becomes available. Check back for updates! Please note; while we aim to keep this pages fully up to date with the latest information, cannabis laws are always changing. We encourage you to verify these rules and regulations in the official legal text, which we’ve linked throughout the page for your convenience.
Grower (also commonly referred to as Producers or Cultivators) – Cultivators are responsible for growing cannabis. Mature plants are harvested and transferred to a Processor.
Rhode Island Cannabis Cultivation Licenses
The Department of Health is accepting applications until April 30, 2017 and will reopen the application submission window annually during the months of January, February and March.
Licensed cultivators may only supply medical marijuana to licensed compassion centers.
There are five (5) different cultivation license types in Rhode Island:
- 0-2,500 sq. ft.
- $5,000 annual license fee
- Class A
- 0-5,000 sq. ft.
- $20,000 annual license fee
- Class B
- 5,001-10,000 sq. ft.
- $35,000 annual license fee
- Class C
- 10,001-15,000 sq. ft.
- $50,000 annual license fee
- Class D
- 15,001-20,000 sq. ft.
- $80,000 annual license fee
Plant and Plant Byproduct Possession Limits by License Class:
|License ClassBy Size per Section 1.5(C)||Pounds of dried usable marijuana||OR||Equivalent # 10 mg edible units**||OR||Equivalent gramsof concentrate**
|OR any combination thereof that does not equate to more than the maximum limit of dried usable marijuana in pounds|
|Micro-license||2.5 max||OR||3,320 max||OR||308 max||OR ̋|
|Class A||5 max||OR||6,640 max||OR||616 max||OR ̋|
|Class B||10 max||OR||13,280 max||OR||1,232 max||OR ̋|
|Class C||15 max||OR||19,920 max||OR||1,848 max||OR ̋|
|Class D||20 max||OR||26,560 max||OR||2,464 max||OR ̋|
How do I apply for a Cultivation License?
Applicants must submit a complete application package by the application period deadline outlined in Section G. The Application package will consist of the following:
- A signed, hard copy of the Applicant’s completed Application with all completed Forms and the Supporting Documents (as outlined in Section I (3)(a)),
- A paper copy of completed Forms 5 and 6 and the Supporting Documents, redacted as described in Section I,
- Two photocopies of item 1,
- Two photocopies of item 2,
- The Application fee of five-thousand dollars ($5,000) payable to the General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island, in the form of a cashier’s check or money order only. The Application fee will be retained and will not be refunded under any circumstances, and
PLEASE NOTE: If an Application is approved, there will be an additional annual license fee which is based upon the class of license issued. License classes are defined in the Regulations according to the square footage of the licensed facility. License fees are in addition to the Application fee and range from five-thousand dollars ($5,000) to eighty-thousand dollars ($80,000). Please refer to the chart of license fees in the license index in Section M.
- Completed Taxpayer Status Affidavit/Identity Form (use Form 4 attached hereto).
Applications should be submitted to:
Attn: Medical Marijuana Compliance Program
Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Building 68-1
Cranston, RI 02920
Cannabis Cultivation License Application Fees:
What kind of tracking system do I need to operate a Cultivation Facility?
Most states require an extensive seed-to-sale cannabis tracking system to monitor cultivation efforts and inventory. Our cultivation seed-to-sale-tracking solution provides comprehensive data tracking with an emphasis on compliance. Customized to meet the unique regulatory frameworks in each state, BioTrack also features an all-in-one business tool to help you operate every aspect of the cultivation business by itself, or as part of the vertically-integrated cannabis business.
You can download the cultivation license application here.
Compassion Centers (Dispensaries) sell legal cannabis, and cannabis products, to responsible adults in compliance with local regulations.
Rhode Island Compassion Center Licenses
The state is not currently planning to give out any more Compassion Center licenses at this time. If they should choose to release more licenses, info will be updated here accordingly.
Currently, Rhode Island has 3 licensed Compassion Centers:
- Thomas C. Slater Compassion Center
- Greenleaf Compassionate Care Center
- Summit Medical Compassion Center
The state’s medical cannabis program is operated by the Department of Health.
What kind of point-of-sale do I need to operate a Compassion Center?
Most states require dispensaries to track and trace all of their cannabis-related products for regulatory and compliance reporting requirements. Our Dispensary Point of Sale and inventory management system provides comprehensive seed-to-sale cannabis tracking with a focus on compliant data points. If your state requires seed-to-sale systems to stay compliant, BioTrack has you covered. Our system is customized to meet the unique regulatory frameworks in each and every state.
Laboratories can test cannabis for concentration and contaminants. Prior to entering the consumer market, all regulated cannabis is required to undergo Quality Assurance testing.
Rhode Island Laboratory Licenses
There are not currently testing standards or requirements in place for Rhode Island’s medical cannabis program.
Caregivers grow and process cannabis on behalf of patients. They cannot charge for cannabis, only recoup the costs of goods.
Current Estimated Patient Counts: 14,693 with an additional 2,904 cleared for patient cultivation
How can I get a Rhode Island Medical Cannabis Card?
Patients with registered medical cannabis cards are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis at any time.
- Patients are required to obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from their primary care physician describing the diagnosis of their qualifying condition.
- Patients are required to obtain a signed Physician’s Statement required to obtain a signed Physician’s Statement from a physician, currently licensed to practice medicine in Rhode Island.
- Patients must be a resident of the state of Rhode Island with proof of residency. If you do not have a Rhode Island I.D. an out of state I.D., passport, or other photo I.D. with proof of residency such as bank statement, utility bill, etc is acceptable.
- To qualify, a patient needs to be diagnosed by a physician as having one of the following debilitating medical conditions that is specifically identified in the law: Once certified, all patient MUST complete an application to register with the Rhode Island Patient Registry — registration in mandatory to be ensured protection under, Rhode Island’s medical marijuana law.
- The Rhode Island MMP does accept out of state registry cards, but only for the conditions approved by the Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater Medical Marijuana Act.
- The Rhode Island Patient Registry fee is $100 for new applications, and renewals. For patients on Medicaid or Supplemental Security Income (SSI), the fee is $10.
- Submit applications to:
Rhode Island Department of Health
Office of Health Professions Regulation
Room 1043 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097
Email: [email protected]
Website: Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Program (MMP)
What are the qualifying conditions for Medical Cannabis in Rhode Island?
- Cancer or the treatment of this condition
- Glaucoma or the treatment of this condition
- Positive status for Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) or the treatment of this condition
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) or the treatment of this condition
- Hepatitis C or the treatment of this condition
- A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following:
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Severe, debilitating, chronic pain
- Severe nausea
- Seizures, including but not limited to those characteristic of epilepsy
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those characteristic of multiple sclerosis or Crohn’s disease
- Agitation related to Alzheimer’s Disease
Am I allowed to grow my own medical marijuana?
Yes – In Rhode Island, Medical Marijuana patients are allowed to possess up to 12 plants and 12 seedlings, provided that they meet special requirements for possessing home cultivation. The requirements and restrictions are as follows:
- Non-residential – no more than 10 ounces of usable marijuana, 48 mature marijuana plants, and 48 seedlings.
- Residential – no more than 10 ounces of useable marijuana, 24 mature marijuana plants, and 24 seedlings.
Rhode Island Seed-to-Sale Traceability Info
The state’s medical marijuana program is regulated by the Rhode Island Department of Health. They handle all changes in licensing as it relates to compassion centers and medical cannabis patients, including additions to qualifying conditions and additions to licensing numbers.
Cultivation licensing is handled by the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation. Cultivation License applications are being accepted until April 30, 2017, and will begin accepting applications again annually during the months of January-March.
You can find the full medical marijuana program’s set of rules and regulations here.