Cannabis License Info
Updated: May 2022
Effective February 2, 2022, Mississippi legalized the use of marijuana for medical purposes under the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act. Recreational marijuana, also commonly referred to as “adult use” cannabis to distinguish it from medical marijuana, is not legal in Mississippi.
The Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) has the ultimate authority over the Medical Cannabis Program, and is responsible for overseeing, licensing, and inspecting cultivators, processors, transportation entities, testing facilities, research facilities, and disposal entities. The MSDH will begin accepting applications no later than June 1, 2022.
The Mississippi Department of Revenue (MDOR) is responsible for overseeing, licensing, and inspecting dispensaries. The MDOR will begin accepting applications no later than July 1, 2022.
Below you will find information regarding licensing procedures for dispensaries, cultivators, and processors. We keep this page up-to-date when new information becomes available. Please note that this page is for informational purposes only and should not be considered legal advice.
Initiative 65 amended the constitution to provide for a medical marijuana program in Mississippi under the direction of the Mississippi Department of Health. Individuals with a debilitating medical condition can seek certification from a Mississippi-licensed physician to obtain medical marijuana under the measure. The measure taxes marijuana sales at a rate not to exceed the state’s sales tax rate, which was 7% as of 2020. Medical marijuana patient identification cards can cost up to $50 under the initiative.
The measure defined debilitating medical condition as “cancer, epilepsy or other seizures, Parkinson’s disease, Huntington’s disease, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, cachexia, post-traumatic stress disorder, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, acquired immune deficiency syndrome, chronic or debilitating pain, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, glaucoma, agitation of dementias, Crohn’s disease, ulcerative colitis, sickle-cell anemia, autism with aggressive or self-injurious behaviors, pain refractory to appropriate opioid management, spinal cord disease or severe injury, intractable nausea, severe muscle spasticity, or another medical condition of the same kind or class to those herein enumerated and for which a physician believes the benefits of using medical marijuana would reasonably outweigh potential health risks.”
The measure specified that no qualified patient could possess more than 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana at one time and that no more than 2.5 ounces could be provided to a patient in a 14-day period. The weight limit in the measure does not include ingredients combined with medical marijuana to prepare edible products, topical products, ointments, oils, tinctures, or other products.
Under the measure, no medical marijuana treatment center can be located within 500 feet of a school, church, or child-care establishment.
Nothing in the measure requires a physician to issue a certification for a patient to obtain medical marijuana.
The Mississippi Department of Health was put in chart of implementing the provisions of the amendment and issuing rules and regulations for the program by July 1, 2021. The measure set a deadline for the department to issue identification cards and licenses for treatment center by August 15, 2021.