BioTrack is the Official Hawaii State Cannabis Traceability System
Cannabis License Info
Information will be updated here as it becomes available. Check back for updates! Please note; while we aim to keep this pages fully up to date with the latest information, cannabis laws are always changing. We encourage you to verify these rules and regulations in the official legal text, which we’ve linked throughout the page for your convenience.
Hawaii Traceability Manuals
- Traceability Manual Producer.pdf
- Traceability Manual Processor.pdf
- Traceability Manual Producer and Processor.pdf
- Traceability Manual Retailer.pdf
Hawaii API Documentation
Patients and Caregivers grow and process cannabis on behalf of patients. They cannot charge for cannabis, only recoup the costs of goods.
Current Estimated Patient Counts: 15,334 (updated 3/06/2017)
How can I obtain a Hawaii Medical Marijuana Card?
Patient Registration Information
To obtain a patient registry identification card, a qualifying patient must:
- Schedule a follow-up appointment with your physician to be certified or re-certified (i.e. annual renewals)
- Go to https://login.ehawaii.gov and create a “free” secure account. Be sure to remember your username and password so you can check on the status of your application! Please, please, please, use a valid email address, mailing address, and phone number …….
- Then go to https://medmj.ehawaii.gov and login (click here for an Instructions OVERVIEW video of the application process).
- Fill out the online application and upload any required documents (i.e. clear copy of your valid ID). Click here for DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS on how to complete the online application. Click here for some helpful tips on submitting a complete application.
- Pay – the cost is $38.50 ($35 application fee + $3.50 portal administration fee); you must pay with a credit/debit card or direct withdrawal from a savings or checking account. All fees are non-refundable, even if a card is NOT issued. Applications that utilize direct withdrawals from savings or checking accounts will not be processed until a minimum of 10 business days from date debit (to be sure it clears your account). Applications that utilize credit/debit card payment will have the shortest turnaround time.
- Submit your application to your physician.
- Once your physician certifies your condition and submits your application to DOH, your application will be in queue for processing. Patients can NOT submit their application directly to DOH.
- DOH will review the items submitted and issue the 329 card for complete applications in the order received.
- Incomplete applications will be electronically returned to the patient for corrections.
- BE ADVISED that making corrections to your information at https://login.ehawaii.gov is NOT the same as making changes to your Medical Marijuana Registry account at https://medmj.ehawaii.gov.
- DOH recommends that applicants check their registration status WEEKLY to ensure a speedy issuance of the 329 Card.
- All 329 cards will be mailed directly to the patient.
- Patients are responsible for ensuring that their caregiver gets the caregiver 329 card.
DOH recommends that applicants check their account at medmj.ehawaii.gov WEEKLY for registration status updates.
The Department of Health suggests the following tips to help facilitate your registration:
- COMPLETE electronic applications are processed in the order received. Be sure your application is COMPLETE.
- Name and DOB must match the Valid ID exactly or it will be considered INCOMPLETE. This includes last name suffix (Sr., Jr., III, etc.) – if the suffix is on the ID, it must be on your 329 Card and vice versa – if the suffix is NOT on your ID, it should NOT be on your 329 Card.
- MIDDLE NAMES – if your valid ID has a middle name, you must include it on your application.
- Incomplete application packets are returned ELECTRONICALLY for corrections. You will be notified via email if your application is incomplete. Using an invalid email address may result in delays.
- be sure to provide complete AND accurate information
- be sure your address (ESPECIALLY grow site address) – is 100% accurate and complete with
- house number, and
- apartment number, and
- street suffix – street, road, place, highway, etc.
- be sure TMK’s are 9 digits – This address option is NOT recommended, only use if you have no other alternative. You can use the following links to search for your street address: City and County of Honolulu (does not work in Chrome), Maui County, Hawaii County, and Kauai County
- Once your 329 Card is issued, a payment of $16.50 and applicable change forms will be required for any changes OR replacement for any reason. Even if the reason is that you spelled your name incorrectly or entered the incorrect date of birth. DOH staff will try to catch these errors, but hey, we are only human …..
- A caregiver is someone other than the patient. DO NOT list your self (the patient) as your own caregiver – this result in an INCOMPLETE application and will DELAY processing your 329 Card.
- For an Adult Lacking Legal Capacity or ANY adult (applicant/qualifying patient) that is unable to sign on their own behalf, an individual that is acting on behalf of the applicant/qualifying patient and is authorized to sign accordingly (i.e. Power of Attorney), must be named as the Caregiver and upload the appropriate forms in this regard.
Does my condition qualify for Medical Cannabis in Hawaii?
- Chronic pain
- Crohn’s disease
- HIV or AIDS
- Persistent muscle spasms
- Post traumatic stress
Choosing a Caregiver
As a patient, why do I want a caregiver? Some patients are too ill to grow their medical marijuana and a caregiver may be designated to grow medical marijuana on behalf of the patient. Once dispensaries are established, the caregiver may be needed to assist the patient in obtaining their medical marijuana from the dispensary. After December 31, 2018, caregivers will not be allowed to grow medical marijuana except for minors/adults lacking legal capacity and on islands that do not have a dispensary.
Does the caregiver need to be identified on the application? YES – Caregivers must be designated by the qualifying patient on the application and registered with DOH in the Medical Marijuana Program.
Can my caregiver grow medical marijuana on my behalf? YES – however,
- This must be clearly articulated in the electronic application (See Registration Information) that is submitted to DOH; and/or
- The patient must use the appropriate Change Forms (see Changes to Information) within 10 days of any changes to the information originally submitted in the application; and
- Neither the patient nor the caregiver are authorized until they receive their 329 Card from DOH.
Designated Caregiver FAQ’s
- Can I be a caregiver for more than one patient? NO – Caregivers may only have one patient at any given time.
- I’ve been asked to be a caregiver, do I have to register separately from the patient that I am caring for? NO – the qualifying patient must designate their caregiver on their application. At that time, all necessary registration information on the caregiver must be provided including a clear photocopy of their valid ID (driver’s license, state ID or passport) AND the caregiver must sign the application form.
- As a caregiver, will I be required to pay a registration fee? NO – the qualifying patient will pay a single fee $38.50 for initial and renewal applications ($35 plus $3.50 portal administration fee) or $16.50 for a replacement or duplicate card. This fee covers both of your registration cards.
- The patient that I am caring for decided to change caregivers, am I still protected? NO – once the qualifying patient notifies DOH of their intent to change caregivers, DOH will invalidate both your card and the patient’s card. Although the qualifying patient will be issued a new card, along with the NEW caregiver, the original caregiver (you) will not be protected.
- As a caregiver, am I allowed to use (smoke, vape, ingest, etc.) medical marijuana? NO – as a caregiver, 1) you may grow medical marijuana on behalf of the qualifying patient if so designated by the qualifying patient on the application, 2) you must attest that you agree to undertake the responsibility for managing the well-being of the qualifying patient with respect to the medical use of marijuana, and 3) you may transport (but NOT inter-island) medical marijuana on behalf of the qualifying patient.
Medical Cannabis Registration Fees in Hawaii:
- $38.50 ($5 application fee + $3.50 portal admission fee)
- Patient Application Details
Medical Cannabis Registration for Minors?
Can someone under the age of 18 years old register to use medical marijuana? YES – A written certification from a physician for a debilitating medical condition must be obtained for the minor. In addition, the physician must have explained the potential risks and benefits to both the minor and the minor’s parent or legal guardian.
Is a caregiver required for a minor participant? YES – the parent, guardian or legal custodian must register as the minor participant’s primary caregiver AND consent in writing to allow the use of medical marijuana by the minor, and control the acquisition, dosage and frequency of medical marijuana use by the minor.
Is valid identification still required if the participant is a minor? YES – a parent, guardian or legal custodian that is applying on behalf of the minor qualifying patient may submit a birth certificate as valid identification for the minor.
Does the parent, guardian or legal custodian need to provide valid identification? YES – all caregivers must provide valid identification AND, in the case of minor qualifying patient, the parent, guardian or legal custodian must also attest he/she has the legal authority to make health care decisions on behalf of the minor.
In cases of joint legal custody, are both individuals required to sign the application? YES – anytime there is joint legal custody, and specifically if the joint legal custody is with regard to health care decisions, both individuals with legal authority are required to sign the application.
Dispensaries sell legal cannabis, and cannabis products, to responsible adults in compliance with local regulations.
Hawaii Dispensary Licenses
Hawaii residents can contact the Hawaii Department of Health to inquire about obtaining a dispensary license. Currently, the state of Hawaii has awarded 8 dispensary license but may increase the total number based on the amount of qualifying patients.
Medical marijuana has been legal in Hawaii since 2000, but access to medical marijuana remained a challenge. Patients and caregivers could legally grow their own marijuana plants within certain parameters. Advocates of medical marijuana have hailed the dispensary program as a major breakthrough. The goal of the dispensary licensure program is to make medicinal products readily available for registered patients while balancing the health and safety of patients and the public.
Act 241 was signed into law in July 2015 and is codified as Chapter 329D, Hawaii Revised Statutes. The Hawaii Department of Health began administering the Medical Marijuana Dispensary Program in 2016. Dispensaries may begin to dispense medical marijuana and manufactured medical marijuana products as early as July 2016 with departmental approval.
Hawaii Dispensary Fees
- $5,000 application fee (non-refundable)
- $75,000 licensing fee per year
Hawaii Dispensary Application FAQ
What kind of point-of-sale do I need to operate a Dispensary?
Most states require dispensaries to track and trace all of their cannabis-related products for regulatory and compliance reporting requirements. Our Dispensary Point of Sale and inventory management system provides comprehensive seed-to-sale cannabis tracking with a focus on compliant data points. If your state requires seed-to-sale systems to stay compliant, BioTrack has you covered. Our system is customized to meet the unique regulatory frameworks in each and every state.
Grower (also commonly referred to as Producers or Cultivators) – Cultivators are responsible for growing cannabis. Mature plants are harvested and transferred to a Processor.
Hawaii Cultivation Center Licenses
Hawaii has a full vertical license structure. Each licensee is permitted a cultivation/processing facility and up to 2 dispensary locations.
What kind of tracking system do I need to operate a Cultivation Facility?
Most states require an extensive seed-to-sale cannabis tracking system to monitor cultivation, processing, and inventory. Our seed-to-sale-tracking solution provides comprehensive data tracking with an emphasis on compliance. Customized to meet the unique regulatory frameworks in each state, BioTrack also features an all-in-one business tool to help you operate every aspect of the cultivation business by itself, or as part of the vertically-integrated cannabis business.
Click here for more information about Hawaii’s application process.
Laboratories can test cannabis for concentration and contaminants. Prior to entering the consumer market, all regulated cannabis is required to undergo Quality Assurance testing.
Hawaii Laboratory Licenses
State Laboratories Division (SLD) conducts laboratory testing in support of environmental and public health programs statewide. Consultation, licensing, and other related laboratory services focused on environmental health and communicable disease control are provided to various federal, state, city, county, and private organizations.
Laboratories are licensed by the Hawaii Department of Health.
Application for Laboratory Approval to Handle, Test, or Analyze Medical Cannabis in Hawaii
Hawaii Seed-to-Sale Traceability Info
Hawaii’s Medical Cannabis Program is operated by the Department of Health.